How to draw India map in 7 Easy Steps

How to draw India Map?

The Government of India has made available maps of the country in the public domain under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license, which allows anyone to use, adapt, distribute and transmit the maps, provided he or she mentions its source.

You have a solid background of knowledge on How to draw maps. In this article, I would like to give you a basic idea about How to draw India map?

Important tips to draw an Indian map

  • The shape of India can be described as stumpy and flat at the top, bottom and right side while the left side is mountainous region.
  • River Ganga flow through this country.
  • There are four major climatic zones in this country which are tropical, cool, temperate and cold.
  • A mountain range named as Himalaya divides India into a northern part which is known as Hindustan and southern one is called as Deccan.
  • The highest point in this country is Kanchenjunga (8598 m) situated on the border of India and Nepal.
  • In the southern part of India, you can find Thar desert, in northwest region it is cold enough to support glaciers.
  • The tropical monsoon climate prevails in the coastal regions whereas the temperate weather comes at higher altitudes where it is cool or warm throughout the year.

Practical answer on how to draw India map

You will need a paper, a pencil and a ruler. I will teach you how to draw India map in seven easy steps.

Step 1: Draw a circle

Use your pencil to draw a circle on a piece of paper. The circle should be perfectly round without being pressed too hard or too soft on the paper. If you are drawing this map for the first time, you can take help from the compass as well.

Step 2: Divide the circle into five sections

Draw a horizontal line across the circle to divide it into five sections. The line should pass through the center of the circle and each section should be equal in size.

Step 3: Draw inner lines

Now you have to divide your paper into 5 big sections, now draw two more vertical lines through the middle point of each section. You can take help from a pencil or ruler to do so.

Step 4: Give names to the states

Now give names to the five lines and mark them as per the following table:

  • Vertical line (going through the center) – Line of longitude
  • Horizontal line (going through the center) – Line of Latitude

Step 5: Find out the states

Now you have to find out the names of Indian states according to their location. For example, if your state falls in the north or northeast line then give it a name as per its position on the map. For example, Jammu and Kashmir is located in the northern part so give it a name i.e. J&K

Step 6: Draw India map

Now you have the names of all Indian states, so you are ready to draw the India map on paper. You need to use a pencil for this purpose. First, mark out the boundaries of each state with proper shape and size. Don’t forget to give your best effort while drawing it.

Step 7: Color in the state map

Now you are ready to color your map, so take help from a colored pencil or marker for this purpose. You can also shade the areas of the states if you like. Use different colors for various parts according to their landscape and weather conditions.

You can use this same technique to draw Africa map, Australia map, South America map, and Europe map. That’s it! You have just learned How to draw India map in simple steps with the help of an easy guide. Keep practicing more maps on your own with this guide.

How to study the map of India?

First, let’s take a look at the map of India. Study it carefully and try to memorize all the names of states and union territories. Let’s see what are the regions of a country in a better way.

Remember, if you want to learn How to draw a map just follow our lead and it will be quite easy for you to understand How to draw an India map? And How to draw an Asia map? So what are you waiting for just getting started!

  • India is the largest country in South Asia and the seventh-largest country in the world with a total area of more than 1.269 million square kilometers or 479,000 square miles.
  • The country’s mainland extends between latitudes 8° 4′ N and 37° 6′ N, and longitudes 68° 7′ E and 97° 25′ E. The northernmost border of India lies along the Himalaya Mountains, where China, India, and Nepal meet. India is bordered on the west by Pakistan and to the north by China, while Bangladesh and Burma lie on the east. India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka, and the Maldives in the Indian Ocean.
  • India has a coastline measuring 7516 kilometers or 4,652 miles. The mainland measures 1,850 kilometers from west to east and 930 kilometers from north to south between the two island chains.
  • It has 29 states and 7 union territories. The state-wise breakup is as follows:
  • Starting from North East, we have Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura, and Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Moving on to North West we have Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, and Haryana.
  • Central India can be divided into two parts: Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh. Andhra Pradesh is the southeast part of Central India whereas the rest of the area is dominated by Karnataka.
  • Moving on to the South we have Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Telangana.
  • Last but not least is West which is dominated by Gujarat and Maharashtra. The rest of the area holds Rajasthan and Goa.
  • ° 25′ E. The northernmost border of India is shared with Afghanistan while the easternmost border is shared with Bangladesh. It starts at The Line of Control, passing through the states of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan, and Gujarat.
  • The southernmost tip of India is located in the Kanyakumari district. Kanniyakumari or Cape Comorin is the southernmost tip of India. It is located in Kanyakumari District, Tamil Nadu.    

Union Territories of India

What are the names of the union territories of India? Union Territories of India are as follows:

  1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands
  2. Chandigarh
  3. Dadar and Nagar Haveli
  4. Daman & Diu
  5. National Capital Territory of Delhi
  6. Lakshadweep Islands.

Four main regions in India

There are four main regions in India:

  1. Himalayan Region
  2. Sub-Himalayan Zone (Terai)
  3. Peninsular Plateau (Deccan
  4. The Coastal Plains.

Conclusion: How to draw India Map?

If you have interests in the geography of the world then you can check How to draw US states’ maps? How to draw European Countries Map? How to Draw South American Countries map? How to Draw Africa countries’ maps? How to Draw Australia and Oceania Countries Map? How to draw a world map with continents names etc.? Most people search for how to draw a map of India for UPSC exams. Most have an interest in Indian geography. This was all about how to draw India map.

Leave a Comment